Medical School

Moses tells his people to look upon the staff and be healed.

I am spending a huge amount of time researching, studying, and otherwise preparing for a career in medicine.  A significant portion of this preparation is required to attend medical school.  To give you an idea of what this entails, I’ll list some recent accomplishments:

-Completing Biology I, Organic Chemistry I, and Organic Chemistry II.  I’m enrolled in Biology II and General Chemistry II (because I needed another Chem credit).

-Shadowing a physician (this was fun!  I want to do it again!)

-Volunteering as an EMT (I could write a blog post just about this!  I could write a *blog* just about this!)

-Writing entrance essays, filling out forms, making applications of various sorts

-Praying.  Lots and lots of praying, and thinking, and reflecting, and more praying.

So why do all of this?  If it sounds like it’s a lot of work, IT IS!  It takes up a huge chunk of my time.  It basically has *become* my free time, outside the Church.  Yet somehow (I know, it’s an ADHD thing), with more to do, I actually accomplish more overall.  But anyway…

I want to be a doctor.  I want to be able to look at a patient with a set of symptoms and think about the problem like a giant jigsaw puzzle and put the pieces where they belong, and solve the problem.  Every time I learn a little more about how the human body works, I feel like I have gained golden nuggets of knowledge, and I hunger for more.  I have an insatiable curiosity about the world around me, about how things interact, and how the puzzle pieces fit together.  I see God’s hand in everything in nature that I observe, especially the human body.  And I feel closer to Him, the more I study.

I have received multiple promptings from the Holy Spirit that I’m on the right track.  I’ve received the calm reassurance of knowing that I’m doing what I should be doing. My Patriarchal Blessing also tells me that this is the pursuit that fits me–this is what my mission in life is.

And I love it.  I’m passionate about medicine.  I want to help people.  I’ve been a patient–I know what it feels like.  I know the acute fear that comes from going into surgery for the first time, and I know the progressive, creeping fear that comes from not knowing what’s wrong with your body.  I know the difference it makes to the healing process when a nurse or a doctor seems to really care about you.

I want to be a doctor.  And I’m willing to do anything I need to do to make it happen.  No matter how many hours I need to study or how much of my free time is eaten by this venture, I will get to med school, and I will enter the field of medicine, and I will make an impact in my patients’ lives.

It is a blessing to have found such a passion.  I am blessed with many passions, actually.  Just wait till I write a blog about the Final Frontier!

I pray that you will be able to search your heart and find something that you are also passionate about.  In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

J. Cabot is a young engineer and author. He was born intersex, but didn't receive treatment until he reached adulthood. He approaches the world with an insatiable curiosity and has an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and exploration. He tackles every puzzle before him with thorough research and a scientific mindset. In college, he sought out an answer to the question of whether God exists, and the Holy Spirit witnessed to him that God does indeed exist, and that God had been present in his life from the beginning. After bouncing between churches in a search to find the right one, he became an active member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. He considers the medical challenges he has gone through in his life to be gifts from God which have served to make him stronger. He also considers his responsibilities as a member of the men's group in his church to have helped him develop his role as a man in society and serve the Lord to his fullest capacity. His life is dedicated to serving God, his family, and America.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Medical School, Personal History, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

